Movement and Health Re-de-fined?

Qi Gong Practice, A Reflection
At first the mind was restless. About 30 breathes the monkey became the turtle as my mind slowed with my breath and I moved from the shallow to the deep. With each deep breath the qi spread to the extremities as I could feel the fingers and feet become more energized with a tingling type sensation. As the practice continued my feet rooted deeper, my sacrum softened and my body relaxed with the breath

Flowing from thoughts to clearing the mind. Awareness to grounded. Resistance to allowance. A quiet, slow breathe from short and shallow to long and deep. Distraction to concentration. An easy awareness, a natural and open flow.

The above is 2 separate reflections from my Qi Gong practice, in which I was lead by a teacher. 15 minutes of amazing practice. Certainly a worthwhile practice to include in daily or weekly movement, or meditation practice. We often do some of the movements in our normal daily physical practice, such as squats both dynamic and static, yoga movements related to tadasana and sun salutation, spinal twist, etc. One of the aspects of this particular form/philosophy of practice that I appreciate is the perspective and esoteric nature.

From my limited understanding we are cultivating, moving, channeling energy/Qi, removing stagnation, etc. From a Chinese Medical perspective I understand the ability and power to do this through use of acupuncture, herbal remedies, exercise, etc. and Qi Gong is a beautiful if not completely tangible and well understood practice (by the general populous).

I am a believer and certainly hope Qi Gong continues to grow in the consciousness of people and health/wellness practitioners.

As Thomas Edison once said, “The doctor of the future will give no medicine, but will interest his patients in the care of the human body, in diet, and in the cause and prevention of disease.”

Qi Gong, Tai Chi, Yoga are interested in exactly this. It is wonderful to explore the numerous possibilities for health and well-being.

Leave a Reply

