Greatness!

Today I took some time to study what it takes to great, to be the best you can possibly be. On Yahoo Sports there was a piece with Kobe Bryant speaking about What it takes to be great. Link below

http://sports.yahoo.com/video/player/news/Graham_Bensinger_InDepth/29976358

I thought to myself how I wish I knew this as a young athlete or just a young man in life. As I have alluded to in the past I have underachieved in the past. I have changed this though and now I am putting in the effort, dedication, work, study, practice necessary to be the best at what I do. Watching videos and listening, or even reading books, quotes by others who I feel have achieved such greatness following these concepts above has deepened my understanding.

Greatness encompasses many factors. Kobe touches on these in this interview, how much time, effort, and dedication it takes to be the best. You have to sacrifice many things including relationships, and beyond. You have to be a nerd, a student of yourself and what it is you wish to be great at. You need to understand how to meet the demands given your abilities. I appreciate Kobe sharing this. I never had this teaching, this coaching in my life but as a coach I share this concept to help people understand what it takes to achieve their goals.

Often we set goals not truly understanding what it means to achieve them. As a coach it is my responsibility to study the movements, the strategies, the positions, the game, etc. But even more so It is up to me to study what it takes to be a great coach, a leader, a guide, a support system to help our people set goals that they can achieve and to understand what it takes to achieve those goals.

Proper goal setting is essential. With knowledge and experience comes trust and understanding. These factors help to be a better and more effective leader. This process never ends. As an example, since I have taken the path of becoming a Doctor in TCM I understand that I have added another element to my personal and professional practice. And with this the responsibility to be a committed student to Medicine in order to bring my patients the best and most appropriate care for their complaint/concern.

We need an undying passion, a laser sharp focus, a curious mind with an unquenchable thirst for knowledge, the ability to implement and possible make a mistake and learn from it and pure dedication. But, it is available to us, but we need to understand what it means, what it takes and as a coach, leader, manager we need to help others understand in order to put them in the best possible position to succeed.

 

Leave a Reply

