Systems, Limitations and Human Potential

A student, I have and continue to explore numerous systems of movement. My purpose is simple, learn through experience and expand my potential as a coach. Through this examination and practice I have learned many invaluable tools. When studying, observing and practicing I place myself in the shoes of those whom I coach. It is key for me to take the essentials of what I am learning and apply as necessary.

I have found a number of excellent if not amazing systems. I have also found that none of these is the end all be all, therefore my continually exploration. This is not a knock on any system, just an honest observation. It also maybe more of a reflection on the simple sheer number of people and varying interests of these people that i serve.

In reading some works by Bruce Lee, recently a penny dropped along with a moment of clarity that feels as if i peeled another layer. It used to be the concept of jack of all trades, master of none. But this i do not feel is the case for me, what i see is myself becoming a master of my own system. It is not about reinventing the wheel, or branding a business to sell and make money. Instead it is truly about life, art, science and the wisdom that comes from being curious, willing to explore and learn, the openness to all things possible. Yes, it is like water, taking the form of what it touches, continually flowing and evolving.

These 3 quotes from Bruce Lee resonated with me on a certain level. I have spent much time reading the Tao Te Ching and from many authors. Much like Bruce Lee, it has a profound impact on my being.

“I am learning to understand rather than immediately judge or to be judged. I cannot blindly follow the crowd and accept their approach. I will not allow myself to indulge in the usual manipulating game of role creation. Fortunately for me, my self-knowledge has transcended that and I have come to understand that life is best to be lived and not to be conceptualized. I am happy because I am growing daily and I am honestly not knowing where the limit lies. To be certain, every day there can be a revelation or a new discovery. I treasure the memory of the past misfortunes. It has added more to my bank of fortitude.”

“When there is freedom from mechanical conditioning, there is simplicity. The classical man is just a bundle of routine, ideas and tradition. If you follow the classical pattern, you are understanding the routine, the tradition, the shadow – you are not understanding yourself.”

“A teacher must never impose this student to fit his favourite pattern; a good teacher functions as a pointer, exposing his student’s vulnerability (and) causing him to explore both internally and finally integrating himself with his being. Martial art should not be passed out indiscriminately.”

As a coach I feel it is integral not to limit my clients to a single system. Instead it is my role to give them the best and most appropriate system for the situation. For this reason I keep exploring and studying systems. I have a long list and it goes far beyond simply movement based systems. I must say it is exciting to be a student and share this wisdom I come across with clients and patients.

2 thoughts on “Systems, Limitations and Human Potential

  1. Very interesting post. The Tao Te Ching is not a frequent reading so I always like to see the responses of those who read it. Seems like it has had some good benefits in the way you see the world. Good.

Leave a Reply

